I am not Alone!!!!!

When I was told that I was infertile my world came crashing around me. Even though there were several women & men sitting in the waiting room at the Drs office with us, I felt like I must be the only person in the world that felt like this.  Through lots of research I have found that this is not true.  I am not alone, in fact 1 in 8 couples of reproductive age are affected.  Although each person’s diagnosis is different I’ve found that we all go through the grieving process.

Resolve.org puts it best:
“Infertile people grieve the loss of the baby that they may never know. They grieve the loss of that baby who would have had mommy’s nose and daddy’s eyes. But, each month, there   is the hope that maybe that baby will be conceived after all. No matter how hard they try to prepare themselves for bad news, they still hope that this month will be different. Then, the bad news comes again, and the grief washes over the infertile couple anew. This process happens month after month, year after year. It is like having a deep cut that keeps getting opened right when it starts to heal. “

I have recently reached out to a support group and have met several women & men that are also going through the grief.  We talk about our diagnosis, what the next step is, tips on how to deal with the emotions and much more.  Not only do we support each other at the monthly meetings but anytime we need to talk to someone that knows what we are feeling.  Don’t get me wrong my family & friends are great and are very supportive but sometimes you just need to talk to someone that knows what you are feeling when you can’t explain the feelings.

Here are some great videos about struggles with infertility.

The Truth About Trying – Redbook Magazine

Leave a Reply

